WhatsApp has added a new feature called ‘accidental delete,’ which allows users to undelete messages they never intended to delete. In other words, if you delete a message for yourself instead of everyone, this feature will give you a short window to undo the action. The new feature is now available to all users, including those using Android and iOS.
The new Accidental Delete feature is only available after you have deleted a message. It is a small window, so you must act quickly if you want to reverse an action and avoid unnecessary embarrassment. This is how the accidental delete feature works.
- Long-tap the message if you accidentally sent it to an individual or a group chat.
- You will see a trash icon in the app’s status bar, which you must tap.
- You now have two choices: delete for everyone or delete for me here.
- If you accidentally deleted a message for yourself rather than everyone, WhatsApp will display an Undo option directly above the text field.
- To delete the message again, tap Undo.
- After you tap Undo, your message will not be deleted, and you can now repeat the process to delete the message for everyone.
The Accidental Delete feature is available on both Android and iOS, but because it is still in the early stages, some users may see it in the coming days.
Aside from rolling out this feature that will save you from embarrassing situations, WhatsApp is also said to be working on a new version of the keep feature that will allow you to keep some messages from a chat that is set to disappear by default.